Essence Magazine Full Price October Failure(at least twice)

Standard

“What makes black men happy (and faithful)” and “7 Breast Cancer Tips to Save your Life” were two titled articles listed on the cover of the October 2010 Essence magazine.  I would never buy a magazine off the newsstand because I know I can get it for 75 cents an issue by subscribing or FREE, if I just use some air miles.  Well the person who is choosing what to put on the cover of Essence has earned their pay for the month of October…they may be part of the rising unemployment rates if readers actually read the articles choosen for the cover.  For starters, I had to go back and analyze the “black men happy” article.  I did notice that the (and faithful) was in the smallest font on the cover. After reading the article, I wondered if it was because the information provided had nothing to do with being faithful.  Well you can decide for yourself.  The first guys says, “There’s never a dull moment.  My wife has the best sense of humor.  We laugh about dream building, planning our millions and having good ol’ ghetto love.”  The second guy goes on to contribute, “My wife is diverse.  She’s a southern belle, but freestyles hard-core rap.  She could replace Easy-E if N.W.A. makes a comeback!” While Mr. surface finishes the article, “She is my support system and is willing to share my joys and help carry my load.  Knowing we can do great things together is an unbelievable feeling.”       I WANT YOU ALL TO UNDERSTAND THAT YOU HAVE JUST WITNESSED BLOGGING HISTORY!!!!

How? Well this is the first time in blogging history anyone has written a blog entry on the cover story of magazine article and included the entire article!  Yep, that’s it.  If you don’t believe me when your in Publix pick up the October issue of Essence and turn to page 112 and it will take you all of 45 seconds to complete the article. And that is because you will have to read it twice when you say to yourself, “Is that it!”  I actually reached out to Essence via email and twitter (my handle is @askmortgagemike) and am waiting for a response.  They probably will say the article was linked to a couple of others on the subject and them I can respond with how page 116 has lots of statistics but does not list the word marriage ONCE, but does list attractive, butt, body, dating, appreciated, dating(again), sexual position, faked orgasm, sex lives and man’s chest.  And then I will go in on them by saying they also listed the longest script on page 120 where a blogger writes on “Why Black men are reluctant to jump the broom.”  Being a faithful HUSBAND(not man, boyfriend…because I thought you had to be married to be faithful, but with Essence out there I see why people are missing that small point) this article made me boil…only to read on a find consistently bad information in another article.

“7 Breast Cancer Tips to Save Your Life” was a cover article included in this straight and not to the point issue of Essence Magazine.  Yes, I am a man and as I thought about which of these articles to list in this post first so I went with the man article because I thought I may lose some of you if I jumped out there with a breast feeding article.  🙂  So I invite you to google Does Breast Feeding Prevent Cancer? and then finish this post.  What did you find?  What I found was all unemployed people need to apply for writing positions with Essence Magazine.  Why?  You guessed it!  In their 7 they just happen to leave out Breast Feeding.  They also left out a couple of other small things that you will find on every other list in the world EXCEPT for theirs…EXERCISE REGULARLY and STOP DRINKING ALCOHOL.  I just don’t know what to do with Essence Magazine at this point.  You are THE most widely sold publication in the African-American society and this is the information you are putting out.  Now I will give you credit for placing an AA woman on page 173 obviously breast feeding her child(THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU), but your failure came in the caption.  “It’s the number of kids you have that can lead to sagging breast–not breastfeeding.” Is this your backwards attempt at telling people to participate in something that will DRASTICALLY REDUCE THE RISK OF BREAST CANCER?  Also, maybe you did not know that every child you have reduces your risk by 7 percent.  In my opinion, and I repeat, in my opinion, I would take sagging breast over cancerous breast, but again…that is just me.

Essence Magazine I want to thank your creators for giving us a platform but I want to ask that you use more careful, intelligent researching tools when writing your cover articles…GOOGLE MAYBE?

About offdachainandouttadabox

We are a married couple of 2 with 4 beautiful, smart children, who after 15 years of marriage have decided to join the blog world with a blog that will allow us to present what may be considered to many to be offdachainandouttadabox as it pertains to the areas of marriage, parenting, finances and health & wellness. The offdachain husband will also, against the wishes of his wife, (hence off the chain) post on other subjects from time to time.

7 responses »

  1. Mike you are breath of fresh air. If that October issue of Essence worked your nerves, then try picking up the November issue of Sister to Sister Magazine. One of their feature articles is titled “Do you really need to be married to have a baby?” The poorly written article is penned by a nationally syndicated African American male psychologist. Talk about insane! I could not believe what I was reading about women who said that she would have two babies with a man who she thought was crazy. But since they weren’t married her children would only experience “crazy” on weekends, but if she married him the crazy would be full time. I almost passed out in the grocery isle. Someone needs to find that doctor and kick him straight in the ding ding. Damn straight you need a husband to raise a family these days. This is doubly true if you have boys. What is the world coming to!!!???

  2. I really do not understand how that glaring omission is so common in these publications. Is the reduction in chances of developing breast cancer due breast feeding just not as widely known as we think it is? But yes you are right. Google could help 🙂

  3. I stopped paying lots of attention to Essence Magazine when Time Warner gained full control years ago. There is no way that THEY can have our best interest in mind. I might as well read Vogue or Marie Clarie. They pretend with the headlines to care but the reality is much different. It’s a sad shame and your post is a reminder of how while we think things are better we have to remember that we have to THINK for ourselves and get and SHARE the facts for ourselves because they are only going to provided the fluff.

Leave a Reply

