Mamavation Monday: 10/11/2010

Standard

I will admit that staying on top of phone calls, e-mails, voicemails, and the like are not my strong point these days. So when my aunt called to say that she would be in town recently, I made a mental note and forgot about it. The next week I receive a phone call that she is in a cab, on the way to our house, huh? I know I would have remembered to do all the due diligence to prepare for an overnight guest; change the sheets and clean the bathroom in the guest room, pick up some extra items from the grocery store, and most importantly, plan to take advantage of having another adult in the house and schedule a date with ODC! Apparently, the person that was scheduled to pick her up from the train station, couldn’t, so she was coming straight to our house.

I have four children that are home with me ALL THE TIME. One of them is a 5 month old and nurses ALL THE TIME. My house is not exactly the model home you see in newly constructed neighborhoods, not even close. I did my best to pull it together in the 30 minutes it was going to take her to get to the house. Once the initial hype settled, I was actually able to enjoy my aunt’s visit and she provided some much needed support to our family. She cooked enough food for us to eat this week and I purposely did not request any macaroni and cheese. My aunt was even able to watch the girls a few times during her visit (didn’t get that date with ODC though, maybe next time).

We attended a Fall Festival today and usually I always look forward to checking out the food vendors. I was very selective since part of our church’s 90 mandate includes managing your finances as well as your health. I wasn’t going to take a chance on buying something to eat that I wasn’t POSITIVE that I would like, so I settled for a $5 Strawberry Lemonade that the whole family shared. How’s that for good stewardship! Ha!

I will be honest, I didn’t have to tap into any willpower to walk away from this:

EXERCISE SCHEDULE FROM LAST WEEK:

Monday 20 minute easy run, chest, shoulders, biceps, and abs

Tuesday 45 minute cross training: Rowing machine, Precor machine, and the murderous Stair Mill

Wednesday 60 minute cycle class

Thursday 30 minute easy run, back, shoulders, biceps and evening Zumba class

Friday 45 minute long run, chest and biceps

Saturday 60 minute cycle class

Sunday Rest

I lost .2 this week. I am all about being honest, so I must admit that when I first stepped on the scale, that was not the result. I fed the baby and Voilá….-.2! Hey, I’ll take it any way I can!

THIS WEEK’S GOALS

This week I have to start tracking my foods again. I don’t think  I am meeting my minimum calorie requirements, and my guesstimating is obviously not working! I also need to get serious about drinking water, this has always been a challenge for me. Workouts will be basically be the same as above, I’m following a 1/2 marathon training program and working it around the two cycle classes I teach and my strength training workouts. I finally reintroduced ab exercises and finally got some relief from my backaches.

I hope to include a great lunch from Subway and support their Commit to Fit Campaign and Jared as he trains for a marathon.

Thanks for the warm welcome and best wishes for all the Mamavation finalists!

About offdachainandouttadabox

We are a married couple of 2 with 4 beautiful, smart children, who after 15 years of marriage have decided to join the blog world with a blog that will allow us to present what may be considered to many to be offdachainandouttadabox as it pertains to the areas of marriage, parenting, finances and health & wellness. The offdachain husband will also, against the wishes of his wife, (hence off the chain) post on other subjects from time to time.

17 responses »

  1. So glad you passed up the fried oreos and twinkies! Good job with your exercise this week. I used to think I could guesstimate my calories too, but when I actually started documenting them I found out I was actually WAY under what I should have been consuming. Good luck with food journaling! It’s a pain, but totally worth it

  2. I don’t understand the fried oreos or twinkies either… but leave it to a fair to fry up ANYthing! Your schedule sounds pretty hectic but I’m glad you were able to enjoy your Aunts visit.

    Good luck this week – I have a feeling that tracking your food will make a heck of a difference for you. i know it is always an eye opener for me 🙂

  3. Totally keep track of what you’re eating because you need to keep those calories up to feed the baby! Eventually, as you nurse for longer, the pounds should start dropping off if you keep up with the exercise and just getting some good food into your body. That was my experience when I nursed for more than a year.

    You’ve def got the exercise down though! Awesome job! So funny about your aunt. I would def. need more than 30 min to clean!! EEK!!! I only have 1 kid too!

  4. Good luck with the food tracking. I food journal just in case my baby has a reaction to something I am eating via breastmilk. I can tell when I don’t eat enough calories because my milk supply goes down and a little pigging out brings it right back up. But honestly with breatfeeding and working out I feel like I am pigging out non-stop to meet my caloric needs and know I am not doing that everyday. I think my good days are when I am not going to bed with or waking up in the middle of the night with hunger pangs.

    I love how you get to cycle all out during your classes and I imagine talk/shout with your class. I taught 2 yoga classes this week and only feel like I got a workout from one of them. Have a great week and have fun with the 1/2 marathon training 🙂

  5. I didn’t even know there was such a thing as fried oreos. Ew. I’m glad you resisted that and were able to have a nice day out with the family that was fun and not expensive. Good tracking is great, especially if you’re breastfeeding a baby. It’s a great way to ensure you’re getting the calories you need, especially given how active you are.
    Good luck with the half marathon training. You are one busy mama!

  6. Ew, twinkies are bad enough by themselves let alone fried. same goes for oreos. I would have gone for the lemonade too. I should track my food better. I have my book next to my bed to log in it every night, but I think I need to find a better system. Have a great week!

  7. Dude, I totally wouldn’t have been able to walk away from the fried oreos or twinkies just because i’ve never actually had EITHER! You’re stronger than me, because I’d have used the mentality of “on wouldnt’ hurt”.. YOU GO! 🙂

    I’m glad you were able to pull your house together in 30 minutes. I don’t know that I would have been able to. I’d have needed more like 5 or 6 hours!!!!

    Have a good week, love!

  8. Good job resisting those fried Oreos! Thanks for the inspiration–I need to pick up my food journaling again. My problem is I tend to underestimate the calories I’m taking in… Good luck this week!

  9. Food journaling is a HARD habit to establish. I’ve been trying for months now and for some reason I do it for a day and then give up! However hard it may be to establish, as Leah says, it is a MUST habit to establish – even she does it!

    You had an awesome workout week last week!! That’s another habit I am working on establishing right now. I just need to get into a routine and start scheduling my workouts I think.

    Glad your aunt’s visit was a positive thing desipite the chaotic circumstances. Does she have children? If she does, I am sure she understands that type of stuff happens and even if she doesn’t, it seems that she did understand. It seems that she understood you needed help which is why she cooked amazing meals for your family! Don’t you just LOVE when someone does that? Maybe I just hate cooking that much. . . hahaha

    Have a great week!

  10. Hey!

    Glad to hear your Aunt’s visit turned out okay! What a crazy mess that must have been, I can totally Imagine!

    Looks like your work-out schedule is kickin butt! Hope you have a better week this week! Stay positive hun!

    ❤ @SeeLauraRun

  11. thats what they make calenders for and dry erase boards every time i have something coming up it automatically goes on the calender or else i will forget it what with my adhd, hope your aunts visit went well and great job at all that exercise

    have a great week

Leave a Reply

