What’s in Your Child’s Food Journal?

Standard

ODC  and I, along with Inner Strength Fitness, have been working with Triple 7 Dance Company on a 6 week program to encourage healthy eating and exercise. Our oldest daughter is participating and as part of the program, she has been keeping a food journal. Last week I was responsible for reviewing the girls’ food journals and giving them feedback. Imagine my surprise when I opened MY daughter’s journal and found this:

Needless to say, I was a bit embarrassed. I wrote a note in her book, “Please have your mother see me”. :-/

My daughter is very self-sufficient for a 9 year old. My nine months of pregnancy and the 6 months that followed have allowed her to experiment a little in the kitchen, while being a huge help to me and her sisters. It is obvious that I have taken for granted her ability to select balanced meals for herself. Viewing her food journal, illuminated some of my own diet deficiencies.

We went to the farmer’s market and loaded up on produce; apples, grapes, cantaloupe, strawberries, pears, squash, and greens. Now, this is nothing new. ODC said that the problem is that he puts away the food and when it’s not easily visible to me, I forget about it, and the food ends up in the trash because it’s rotten :-(.

Today I took steps to avoid the usual. I cooked!!! I made the greens and salmon cakes and I am soaking the navy beans for the soup I will make tomorrow. The fruit is not an issue for the girls, they will eat apples all day. I am going to focus on making sure we all are increasing our servings of fruits and vegetables daily.

I encourage anyone who is a parent to have their children keep a food log for 1 week. I think you may be surprised by what you find. Are your children too little to write? It still may be worth the time to log their foods for a week. In my journey to a healthier lifestyle, I am reminded that my family is along for the ride too!

I am still training for the 1/2 marathon so I am running about 4x per week. I am doing strength training 3 days per week and still teaching my cycle class 2 days. I tried a new class last week, boxing. I enjoyed it and I have decided to add it to my schedule. I lost 1lb, which is good since I am still exclusively nursing.

I will focus on water this week and of course increasing the produce 😉

Congratulations to the new Mamavation Moms, Rachel and Shelley!

BLOGGING CARNIVAL: This week’s blogging carnival is sponsored by SUBWAY. SUBWAY is giving away a $50 gift card to Lulu Lemon, a green Gaiam gym bag and yoga mat.  The Commit to Fit Campaign and Jared are keeping me motivated!

Make it count this week!

Outta Da Box

About offdachainandouttadabox

We are a married couple of 2 with 4 beautiful, smart children, who after 15 years of marriage have decided to join the blog world with a blog that will allow us to present what may be considered to many to be offdachainandouttadabox as it pertains to the areas of marriage, parenting, finances and health & wellness. The offdachain husband will also, against the wishes of his wife, (hence off the chain) post on other subjects from time to time.

9 responses »

  1. I will not have her keep a food journal because I know that it will be a terrible read. I think today she had a muffin, a crepe with strawberries and whipped cream and rice for dinner (she didn’t eat the real food that came WITH the rice).

  2. Food logs are a great idea. Even my daughter, who is only 18months old, can sometimes have strange off days where she misses out on whole food groups if I’m not keeping track. A day here and there is no big deal, but keeping a mental log of her food every day helps me to keep her mostly balanced.

  3. I like the idea of kids keeping a food journal every so often (like 1 week up to 2x/year) with the caveat that they know food journals don’t have to be about weight loss but a tool for checking in with yourself to see what can be improved. I love your parenting style and hope I can raise my child to have good self-care instincts. Your child will only be better for how you are working with her with this journal.

    Good luck this week. Have a blast with the boxing (as well as 1/2 training, strength workouts, and cycle teaching). Also congrats on the pound, that is a big deal with the nursing!

  4. What a great way to teach your kids about nutrition! I wish that my mother had inspired us to keep a food journal, it might have helped me a lot! Congrats on the loss, a lb is awesome! I hope that you have a great week, and I hope the journaling continues!

  5. That is awesome! It’s amazing what we can see when it’s ourselves brought out through our children. Good for you for making a conscious effort to change those habits!

    Congrats on that pound! Well deserved!!!

    Have a great week!

  6. You are kicking butt!! Between the exercise, looking at the food your family is eating, losing a pound? You’re on fire!! I should def write down what my son eats. he’s a carbotarian!!!

  7. I keep my own food journal and mentally keep one for my 3YO dd. I think it’s a great idea for kids to get in touch with eating and proper nutrition, and to learn that, even when we don’t “like” something, sometimes we need to eat it because it’s good for us. I’ve learned to like a lot of foods that way.

    Good luck with your 1/2 marathon!

Leave a Reply

