Weight Ain’t Nothing But A Number….Whateva!!!

Standard

Sure, I know that the number on the scale is not EVERYTHING, and how your clothes fit does matter, but ask any woman about their “ideal” weight, and almost all of them have a certain number in the forefront of their minds. I like to think of mine as my fighting weight; the weight that makes me feel really good, the weight that doesn’t take a herculean effort to maintain. I’ve had to adjust my “fighting weight” by about 5-7 lbs to make allowance for the fact that I am still nursing exclusively, but I was thrilled to finally break into the 130’s today! (139.8 to be exact, but hey, it’s still a 1 and a 3!)

A few months ago, I told Ask Wifey that when I hit this milestone, I was going to treat myself to a pair of shorts similar to a pair she was wearing in a pic on her blog. It’s a pair of running shorts that are usually out of my budget, but I’m going to live a little.

I have a spa gift certificate that I am holding onto to use to celebrate the next milestone, which is 5 lbs. I am hoping that now that I am getting closer to my goal, I will consistently track my foods, which is key for me to be successful. I am a Lifetime member of Weight Watchers, and the program is very nursing friendly, but I have been using My Fitness Pal because the database is massive, I can use it on my phone, and most importantly, it’s FREE!! I still weigh in monthly with WW, just to motivate me by having my weight publicly recorded πŸ˜‰

I’m moving right along with my half-marathon training. I did my longest “long run” yesterday, and it was 1 hour and 10 minutes. I as able to run outside one time last week. The majority of my training has been on a treadmill. My gym friend and a great personal trainer, Connie Powers, suggested that I put the incline on 1 to help my treadmill runs. The change has been very subtle, but I hope it helps me to transition to running outside (which I don’t really like right now).

Here’s my schedule for this week:

Sunday: REST

Monday: Running and Strength Training

Tuesday: Running and Strength Training

Wednesday: Teach Cycle

Thursday: Running and Strength Training

Friday: LONG RUN

Saturday: Teach Cycle

I have been researching protein powders and have decided to buy some. I have trouble making time for breakfast, and I think fruit, protein smoothies are the answer.

I working with a first-time, expectant mother and it would be great if she could work withΒ Patricia Friberg and her Belly Beautiful Workout DVD on the days that we don’t meet!

About offdachainandouttadabox

We are a married couple of 2 with 4 beautiful, smart children, who after 15 years of marriage have decided to join the blog world with a blog that will allow us to present what may be considered to many to be offdachainandouttadabox as it pertains to the areas of marriage, parenting, finances and health & wellness. The offdachain husband will also, against the wishes of his wife, (hence off the chain) post on other subjects from time to time.

19 responses »

  1. Hi Dawn I do smoothies everyday to make sure I get enough protein in. My favorite powder is Jay Robb whey protein powder in vanilla. It mixes very well, no clumps and it’s not a over powering vanilla taste. Also click protein powder in expresso can be heated like a mocha latte. Congrats on the 130’s. I’m 16 lbs from my goal weight. Love the blog, take care.

    • Thank you so much. I think the smoothies are going to really help me with the protein, as well as helping me to regularly eat breakfast. I am going to try a few of the plant based powders and I will also look into that Jay Robb. Thanks Again!

  2. Woohoo!!! Yay for reaching a major milestone!! I think it’s important that you treat yourself in some way, in spite of the tight budget. Our budget is tight too, but when I reached a milestone earlier this year, I bought myself a new swim suit. Every time I wear that swimsuit, I am reminded of my success and it keeps me motivated. Enjoy those running shorts!!!

  3. Love your awesome attitude!! Getting into the 130s and so close to your goal is great!! Congrats on the long run too! I hope to get there someday too.

    Are you going to post a pic of you in the shorts? : )

  4. Awesome!

    Since we’re on the topic of weight, let me ask you a question. Have you ever shared with a family member that you were trying to lose weight and they encouraged you NOT to lose weight? I feel (and the healthy weight charts support) that I need to lose thirty pounds. However, recently some family members were visiting and they began a chorus of unsolicited “you look good” and “you don’t need to lose any weight” and “if you start losing weight, you’ll lose your curves and then you’ll look sick”. Is this just my crazy family or what?
    Just wondering.

    • All the time!!! I just know what is comfortable for me. ODC and I have a joke that in our culture, we judge people by how they look in jeans. In another culture, it’s about how you look in a bathing suit. I’m not vying for a spread in Sports Illustrated, but that’s direction I choose to follow πŸ˜‰

  5. Congrats on making it to the 130s this week! I love the milestone treats. You are very consistent and I know this half training is good for you physically and mentally (you seem to be having fun with it). Good luck on getting a DVD, it will be a nice something something for your client.

    • Thanks Kia. I’m actually starting to look forward to my runs. My schedule is so intense with the girls, I feel like I can’t really relax until after Wednesday afternoon. It has become difficult to keep up with all the Mamavation activity, but I really value the support.

  6. awesome i can’t wait till im even at 210 or 215 the further i get from 220 the better in the past few weeks ive been inching back up toward it and i never wanta be up here agian. hope that your week goes great

  7. Yea, well, I’m a lardass these days. I blame the weight gain on all the wine and beer I drank last year to deal with the stress of working ful-time. Maybe it’s the meds; I’ve read that they put weight on ya. Taking them, I feel less depressed about the day ahead, but then get bummed anyway because I’m fat during the day ahead. haha. I like walking and I’ve got about 30 The Firm and Gaia Yoga tapes. I was gonna go walking today, but it’s sleeting. So instead, I will motivate and do the in house Walk Weight Off DVD that I got a few weeks ago. I know I’ll feel better afterwards (45 minutes from now!) and that I’ll feel even better in Spring time when my arms and butt aren’t wobbling around like chickens with their heads cut off. I’ve got some dresses in the closet that will dryrot from disuse if I don’t get this flab off me this year and fit into them again. I’ll keep you posted on createbeastsblog.

Leave a Reply

