A Set-back Is a Set-up for a Come-back

Standard

In the black church, our leaders are famous for the poetic prose that they use when preaching the gospel. Some of these sayings are more memorable than others, but after my experience this weekend, one particular statement came to mind.

I went through the week with my normal 4 day running/2 day cycle schedule. I was a bit disappointed to get to the end of the week and find my weight was up 2lbs. I was like “Cheese and rice!!! What in the world happened???” I went through my week in my mind and realized that once again, I didn’t do any tracking and to make matters worse, my lunch on most days consisted of chips and salsa. Too much sodium and zero water is a complete recipe for disaster.

I’m not too discouraged by the 2lbs, I remind myself that sometimes this is part of the journey. I use the information as feedback and alter my choices accordingly. I know that recording my food helps me to eat enough, which seems to be where I am challenged. My days with the children, fly by and I realize that my food for the day has been a protein shake, coffee, chips and salsa, and somebody’s leftovers from dinner. My exercise, combined with my body’s need to produce milk, makes getting enough calories essential for weight loss.

After reading Skinny Sushi’s post last week, on Saturday I decided to sit in on the “Getting Started” portion of the Weight Watchers meeting so that I could get acclimated to the new program. Skinny Sushi has a great review of the changes in the plan on her blog. I was thrilled to hear about 0 point fruits, and the 14 extra points for nursing moms, so I purchased the new books and the new, must have (no more slider), points calculator. I did all this, but I really think I like My Fitness Pal better. I love the fact that I can just enter any food into my iphone app and track my calories. I told myself that I would try the new WW program for a week, but it’s day 1 and I am already feeling overwhelmed.

I’m a true competitor at heart, so I am determined to use this week to get back on the losing track. I plan to face that scale at the end of the week with confidence! It’s on baby!!

About offdachainandouttadabox

We are a married couple of 2 with 4 beautiful, smart children, who after 15 years of marriage have decided to join the blog world with a blog that will allow us to present what may be considered to many to be offdachainandouttadabox as it pertains to the areas of marriage, parenting, finances and health & wellness. The offdachain husband will also, against the wishes of his wife, (hence off the chain) post on other subjects from time to time.

10 responses »

  1. I love the Cheese and Rice saying, that is a good one. I haven’t looked into the new WW program, but I was interested. I am interested to see how the rest of your week goes if you stay tracking with it or move back to the other program. It is difficult with little kids to track what you are doing or eating. I hope you have a great week. Good luck!

  2. Yeah, I have heard good things about the new points system. Good luck with it! I bet you will see a good loss next week if you work on your hydration and cut down on the sodium. Very doable! Keep up the running, and have a great Holiday Season!

  3. CHEESE AND RICE! <—- I love this phrase LOL!

    Own this week. You can do better. Eat well, drink water. I love that you are a competitor and you are a smart competitor. You'll get your desired results.

  4. That’s my challenge with breastfeeding too – I either give in and consume FAR too many calories, or make very bad food choices because I’m hungry ALL.THE.TIME or I don’t eat enough. I think food tracking is a great way to combat that. Good luck & have a very Merry Christmas!

  5. Sounds great! I’m one week into sweets restriction and doing well so far. I’ll keep you posted on my progress if you promise to do the same.

Leave a Reply

