Marriage needs clear communication!!

Standard

So I am driving home from work and I call my wife(because in the A, you can do that) like I do everyday and say, “I am almost home do you need me to pick up anything?'(good husbands do that so they don’t have to get that crazy look on their face when they find out they need to go back out and pick up something for dinner)  On this day she says, “No but I was able to finish daughter #2’s hair!”  To which I replied, “Great.”  My wife then told me it took her 2 hours.  Then I took the opportunity to tell her how I was going to take all of my daughters(well 3 of the 4) to get their hair done.  She said, “OK.”  I told her I loved her and she told me the same…because we NEVER hang up the phone without saying it…and then we hung up.  I thought for a second and felt something was not right…just felt funny when I hung up so I thought to myself.  Self….When you get home ask your wife if everything is okay.  You can say that you felt a little funny when we got off then phone.

But I said, NOPE…do it now!

I called her back and told her I loved her A VERY LARGE AMOUNT!! I also told her how proud I was of her for being able to fit 3 DIVA’s hair appointments into her busy, homeschooling 3 different grade levels, breastfeeding a 9 month old and chasing her as well, and dealing with a husband who likes a clean house but wont pay for a maid SCHEDULE.  I explained that there was some thick air when we hung up and I wanted to have CLEAR COMMUNICATION.  I felt like when she told me about her successful appointment with Logan’s hair…you remember the 2 hour one….that I followed it up with how I was going to take everyone to the salon.  Because when I thought about it…she could have taken it the wrong way and took my response to say…”I really don’t like how you do hair and when I get some money I am going to get it done RIGHT!”

Because that was NOT the case I called back and made sure we were CLEAR!…AND SURE ENOUGH…SHE TOOK IT THE OTHER WAY!!

SOOOOO I am glad  I called so she only had to deal with the thoughts in her head for about 2 minutes.

And the funny thing about all this is I like my daughters hair NOT DONE AT ALL!  I LIKE IT WILD STYLE!!

Until next time

OTC

About offdachainandouttadabox

We are a married couple of 2 with 4 beautiful, smart children, who after 15 years of marriage have decided to join the blog world with a blog that will allow us to present what may be considered to many to be offdachainandouttadabox as it pertains to the areas of marriage, parenting, finances and health & wellness. The offdachain husband will also, against the wishes of his wife, (hence off the chain) post on other subjects from time to time.

12 responses »

  1. You provided a superb example of what a husband should do to cover his wife and reinforce his marriage. A good husband takes the lead in fostering clear communication within his wife and doesn’t shift the blame to her for improper communication or miscommunication. I love the way you cover your wife & girls! Keep on being the exception to what the world does, Mike!

  2. YESSSSSSSS!!! Intuition between husband and wife is REAL, but awesome when you act on it. The way you handled the situation was pitch perfect. Your wife is a lucky woman! (And good God—four heads of hair? FOUR?! *making sign of the cross* I got two, plus mine. It ain’t easy. Kudos to the wife for making it do what it do!)

  3. There would NOT be 85 percent of our adult population between the ages of 18-80 if men, especially husbands, were in tune to their significant other. I like the way you headed off the scrutiny before it had a chance to began. Negative energy drains everyone around. You are a husband who is spiritually, emotionally, and soul-ly connected to his wife and family. May you always be that way….Hey, why don’t you put together a little handbook on what a good husband does verses one who thinks he’s good, or even worst, one who is awful at it but trying so hard to get it right.
    Be Blessed,
    Nik

  4. Thanks Denene@MyBrownBaby and trust me…THE LUCK IS ALL MINE! I confess I was the craziest most disrespectful guy on the planet when I met my wife, but I realize that I could not be that guy and demonstrate to those 4 girls how a woman should be treated. I understand children learn more from what we do than what we say!
    OTC

  5. Funny, I’m always telling my friends that I think one of the things that really works for my husband and I is never pretending that either of us can read the other person’s mind. Transparency is so key!

Leave a Reply

