How would this change the world?

Standard

I caught part of a conversation while picking up my 9 year old and dropping off my 5 & 7 year old daughters at dance classes last Saturday.  It was a conversation that really impacted me enough for me to RUN home and tell OTC that every time I speak to a group I will present what I heard.  One of the parents said that the QUESTION was asked in her home….You know…S…E…X!  One of her children asked HOW DO YOU KNOW YOUR READY?

Anyone who knows me knows I like to talk but I shut up and began to listen…and really don’t remember what or who I was talking about before this E.F. Hutton statement hit the room.

The young lady said her husband said he would handle it.  He said something that I believe if repeated enough will change this world!  The statement…..AFTER THE BREAK!

SORRY…that American Idol just cracks me up!

You know you are ready to have SEX when you have 3 things!

1. Your married

2. You have your own place

3. You have your own job

He told his children if any piece of this is missing your not ready.  If your not working…YOUR NOT READY!  If you are not married…YOUR NOT READY!  If your married and working but living with your parents….YOUR NOT READY!

The question I have is if the entire world lived by this…

HOW WOULD THIS CHANGE THE WORLD?

ODC

About offdachainandouttadabox

We are a married couple of 2 with 4 beautiful, smart children, who after 15 years of marriage have decided to join the blog world with a blog that will allow us to present what may be considered to many to be offdachainandouttadabox as it pertains to the areas of marriage, parenting, finances and health & wellness. The offdachain husband will also, against the wishes of his wife, (hence off the chain) post on other subjects from time to time.

6 responses »

  1. Personally, I think everybody aboded by that great piece of advice, we’d be in much better shape. I think divorce rates would be down. We’d see a decrease in teen pregnancy and single parenting. This is something that every parent should be telling that their child.

    Morals start at home and we can’t be afraid to talk to our kids about sex. We have to let them know that it’s ok to wait. And not only is it just ok, but it’s the way things should be. Sex is more than just a physical connection and you should be in the best possible of your life before you go out and start doing it.

  2. Zen asked me how old he needs to be to have a girlfriend. I said “15 or 16”. I asked him “How old do you need to be before you have sex?” He replied, “oh, 25 or so.” I told him that sex is a beautiful thing that adults share. It’s not for kids to share, and it’s DEFINITELY not for adults and kids to share. “Sex can be fun and feel good, and I’m not gonna tell you to wait until you are married to do it. Just make sure that you love the person, she loves you, and that you use condoms. Actually, just assume that everyone you meet is infected with something and strap on 2. Protect yourself and protect her. I’m a woman, and I love women, but some of us are devious and will tell you that she’s on the Pill or has an IUD or something. Don’t believe her unless know it for an incontrivertable fact. Most importantly, before you have sex make sure that you are TRULY ready to be a father, because even with protection, a baby can still be made. I know you’ll make a fabulous daddy, but make sure you’re ready for the responsibility.”

Leave a Reply

