But the Superbowl pays the bills……

Standard

WOW! I have another dance performance to attend this week.  It seems like I all I have done lately has been attend dance performances.  Well I guess having 4 daughters may have something to do with it.  I guess…What’s your take?  I kind of wanted to share my experience a couple of weekends ago…Sorry for the delay…had to go to Disney and stay in the pool until midnight and just waking up from that trip…now back to my regularly scheduled program.——>  So my daughters dance company, Triple 7 Dance Company, had a competition here in Atlanta(the same one the RHOA live in…Duluth,Lawrenceville) and it started on Friday.  So there were girls who did solos for about 4 hours on Friday night and though my daughters were not dancing…we had to support the team.  You know when it is male sports that sounds okay but when it involves females you just don’t hear that much..huh!  So Fridays are not the night for us because of our long weeks but we went out in the craziest traffic since we have moved here from DC and watched the girls on the team do their thing. One I keep telling her that when she makes it BIG I am going to be her AGENT!  I was actually glad we went.  The challenge came when we needed to get home and back the next day for the 13 hour competition day.  YEAH! You read that correctly.

The funny thing was when I walked in with my 5 & 7 year olds, who dance at the same company, I immediately lost them.  One minute I was speaking to my wife and they were under my legs and then they were gone. But because I am there father, I knew exactly where to find them.  I checked the first row and there they were.  Pink & yellow American Idol type signs in hand with their sisters name all over them.   Two things to focus on here.  If your planning on marrying one of my daughters…..FYI….they only do the first row and I don’t apologize for them knowing where they belong.  Also, I love the way they stick together and support their oldest sister, even though her nickname is Miss. Bossy!

So on this long day I was in and out of the packed competition coliseum and so was the fire marshall…Did I say it was packed?  Bathroom break after bathroom break after water break after play break after I am hungry break after break after break after break.  So my wife and I took turns holding the 10 month old so there were periods where I am chasing the 5 & 7 and the 10 month old is pulling my hair.  Oh, I forgot…I don’t have any hair.  Well, my glasses then.

The entire day I kept getting these looks like…why doesn’t he tell his daughters to SIT DOWN? Well, that is what I thought they were saying, but after the competition I realized they were not used to seeing an AA dad with his family.  My daughters company was the only AA company in the competition and I told you this thing was PACKED!

Sad thing is we hear stories everyday about women not having their dads around and how this impacts their self-esteem and all the other mess, but still we are not around.  My father was not around so I guess I have an excuse not to be or to be more consumed with football.  After all the Superbowl pays the bills…

I had a conversation with a young lady from Alabama and she was sharing with me how many high schools and colleges were cutting dance and gymnastic type programs due to a lack of funding.  She was saying it only makes since to support football & basketball.  I thought to myself…yeah if you want to lose your daughters to the football & basketball players when they get to college.  I can say that being a college scholarship athlete who was a low self-esteem predator…and I mean a good one.

So after spending 13 hours at this dance competition and witnessing my daughters dance company win 13 trophies between 1st, 2nd and 3rd places we were released to carry the little ones to the trucks and get ready to drive an hour home(because everything in Atlanta(Duluth, Lawrenceville) is an hour away…only to return the next morning at 7:30 for another full day of classes.  (not to mention this stuff is expensive)  I digress.

So on the way home I got a chance to think back on the day as it was pretty quiet on the trip home.  All those runs to the bathroom had tired the girls out.  I actually had a tear run down my face as I reflected on the long day of dance(and thus my life as a Dad of 4 dancers)  For a couple of reasons.

1. I was proud of my daughters

2. I was proud of the other AA dad who was there longer than me & he does football too because he has a son

3. I was proud of the only AA dance company at the competition

4. Glad my wife and I have taught my daughters that you are 1st row material and that is just where you belong…and even when you go to the bathroom and there are not assigned seats…go right back to your seat and tell the person who took it that it belongs to you…nicely but do it

5. Sad because I thought about all the energy that goes into the biggest sports weekend of the year and how many men are missing seeing their little girls grow up

BUT THE SUPERBOWL PAYS THE BILLS…….

My question is AT WHAT COST?

ODC

About offdachainandouttadabox

We are a married couple of 2 with 4 beautiful, smart children, who after 15 years of marriage have decided to join the blog world with a blog that will allow us to present what may be considered to many to be offdachainandouttadabox as it pertains to the areas of marriage, parenting, finances and health & wellness. The offdachain husband will also, against the wishes of his wife, (hence off the chain) post on other subjects from time to time.

Leave a Reply

