Don’t ask me in front of the kids!

Standard

Good morning!  “You want to do a 15 minute workout with 15 minutes of abs with me?”

Why did my wife ask me this ON VACATION….IN FRONT OF THE GIRLS?  And why am I so full of pride that I said, (with my best Alvin voice) “Yes.” So my wife moves the table and chairs in our hotel and pulls her dumbbells out of the car w/ her 4 lb. medicine ball and commences to hit some buttons on her ipod and pulls up a Nike workout (w/ music)  Crazy!!

I did it though.  I went through the workout and I am still hurting, but it is a good hurt.  As you all know, my brain is kinda crazy.  So after the workout I thought about the impact on my daughters….Not the impact on them having to wait an extra 30 minutes for breakfast but the impact on their health and wellness.  My wife works out 6 times a week and I work out too…sometimes.  But really!  I look at my daughters and then I see other children their ages and realize that we are presenting a good picture for their viewing.  My wife runs marathons…and I support her.  My wife works out…and I support her.

But seriously, I could have said NO…I am on VC!  But I like how it looked to them.  They need to know that everything comes with sacrifice.  It is not just going to happen without work and they need to see my wife and I doing things together.

Now if I just posted that my wife made me workout you guys would say…that’s cool so I am going to post the exact workout…so you will know the crazy woman that I live and play with.  I was going to have her change her name to ODC!

Single Leg Arm curls w/ dumbbells

Altenating Medicine ball push ups

Modified Tricep Push ups

Sumo squats w/press ups

Plank Row

Recover for only 30 seconds

Repeat 3 times

Then came the 15 min. ab blast with Jeanette Jenkins(follow her on Twitter @JeanetteJenkins) (tell her I sent you and she will laugh because my crazy wife actually gets responses from her on twitter…so you know my wife is crazy!  Next she will be talking to Jillian

Forearm Plank (1 minute)

Hand Plank w/cross rotations (1 minute)

Forearm Plank Pikes (1 minute)

Forearm Plank Balances (1 min)

Cobra Stretch (20 seconds)

Upward Facing Dog (20 sec)

Cat-Cow Pose (20 sec)

Alternating Long Legs W/rotation (1 min)

Double Leg Reaches to Full Tuck (1 min)

Side Plank (40 sec)

Side Leg Lifts (40 sec)

Side Leg Lifts w/ lateral reaches (40 sec)

Bicycles (1 min)

Roll Ups (1 min)

Full Body V-ups (1 min)

Decline w/ a rotation (1 min)

Double Crunch w/ circle reach (1 min)

Scissor Kicks with Extended Arms (1 min)

So now you have a better understanding of how crazy my wife treats me and this was after she got back from running.

So what are the results.  I am going to upload the Nike app on my phone and start the workout myself and I ran this morning.  I think I am hooked on this workout thing!  I turn 42 in June and I need to have a flat stomach so I can hang with my wife.

Lot’s of post this week so LOOK OUT!

ODC

About offdachainandouttadabox

We are a married couple of 2 with 4 beautiful, smart children, who after 15 years of marriage have decided to join the blog world with a blog that will allow us to present what may be considered to many to be offdachainandouttadabox as it pertains to the areas of marriage, parenting, finances and health & wellness. The offdachain husband will also, against the wishes of his wife, (hence off the chain) post on other subjects from time to time.

4 responses »

  1. I understand your wife. Working out is apart of her lifestyle not an activity. It’s just like eating and sleeping to her. Since you eat and sleep on vacation, she must also workout on vacation. GO GIRL!!!

Leave a Reply

