“I just want to be left alone.”

Standard

Question: What did we do on Mother’s Day that we should be doing daily?

“I just want to be left alone.”  

No this is not what my wife said but it is what a buddy of mine told his wife he wanted for Father’s Day and my wife said that she was feeling him.  I already know who my wife is and knew she would like his statement.  My question comes because we just celebrated Mother’s Day yesterday and these holidays always bring questions to my crazy mind.  

Hey, at least I know I have issues…most are walking around thinking they are good!

What did we do on Mother’s Day that we should be doing on a daily basis?  How about try being ‘In Tune’ with the needs, likes and wants of your wife. 

Bad News coming in the next sentence….

Your wife just might not like going to a busy restaurant with the entire family and all the kids and waiting 45-1hour for a table….I’m just saying.  Did you ask her or are you just doing what you saw done for your mom…Who would not speak up and say she did not want that for Mother’s Day.

What does my wife want for Mother’s Day?  A trip to Puerto Rico (not with the family) And if she can not get that…she will settle for a 5 hour trip to the gym (sauna package included) and a clean, empty(no us) house when she returns.  In addition, she would like one order of children who are sleep when they arrive in the middle of the night.  So maybe….just maybe your children would LOVE Mother’s Day if you always took them to SixFlags and mommy got what she wanted.

I will not charge you for that one.

Also, at my church they had all the men & Young Soldiers to cook their special dish(special instructions…DO NOT HAVE YOUR WIFE/MOMMA COOK THE DISH) and they broke out the grill and served the women dinner and desserts.  Great idea…WHY?  No dishes in the sink.  No drive to the crowded restaurant.  No waiting to eat…food was ready by the end of service.  We need to keep this idea on the books guys!!

No charge for that one either…since it was not mine to begin with.

I just wanted to attempt to bring something to your attention…Hello…Men…I am speaking to you! If you are buying flowers and your wife does not like flowers…

Let me give you a way to find out what to do for your wife.  

Just ask.  Question form is below:

“Hey pretty lady.  What would your ideal Mother’s Day look like?” (please do this at in Feb.  just in case she wants to go to Puerto Rico with ODB)  She will tell you what she wants.  Stop trying to read her mind and missing.

Now once you find out what she likes to do…

Rinse and Repeat!

ODC

About offdachainandouttadabox

We are a married couple of 2 with 4 beautiful, smart children, who after 15 years of marriage have decided to join the blog world with a blog that will allow us to present what may be considered to many to be offdachainandouttadabox as it pertains to the areas of marriage, parenting, finances and health & wellness. The offdachain husband will also, against the wishes of his wife, (hence off the chain) post on other subjects from time to time.

10 responses »

  1. Hopefully, more men will take your advice in this post. We as women are not that complicated. We just require that men get to know us & not try to be mind readers. A simple question can show us that you’re really interested about and care what we want.

  2. The problem is we love our mothers so much and don’t really understand how you don’t just want the same things as her.

    Understandable…but still a miss and we are sorry.

    Starting today…we will do better

  3. Great post! I’m so easy, though, because my hubby doesn’t even have to ask me. I let him know well in advance exactly what I want. Then he usually gets it for me and presents it in a surprising way or with a twist. Everyone’s happy. Of course, it took many years to get to this point, but hey…anything worth having is worth waiting for, right? It may have taken him more than five years to figure it out, but now I have a lifetime of him getting right to look forward to!!

  4. GREAT! I love my children but if you would have asked me I would have said just let me go run and then go to the store BY MYSELF. I also asked my kids not to fight all day (ok I know that was unrealistic-lol). I felt guilty wishing for a little alone time but I rarely get any. You are right on! heidi

  5. Isn’t it funny. Men are always saying “we aren’t mind readers” or “we are not complicated” yet they will try and read a woman’s mind. While I’m not a huge fan of “Women are from Venus, Men are from Mars” I do think he has a point when he talks about men wanting to “fix” everything and I think that extends to “fixing” what their wife or girlfriend might want. Basically, it is assuming and we all know that assuming makes an ass out of……

  6. Mike, you get an A+ on this one! So very very true! People were trying to figure out why I was in Vegas with my girlfriends on Mother’s Day! You just answered it perfectly!

  7. I’m so lucky that my husband knows me well enough to know that I don’t want any fussiness because it’s “Mother’s Day”.

    We went to see Thor (Great movie!) and he grilled yummy deliciousness with turkey burgers just for me, and I spent hours reading. Ahhhhh. Gotta love it!

Leave a Reply

