I HATE & LOVE…………..cloth diapers!!!

Standard

There has been an epidemic spreading across the land recently.  This kind of stuff happens and no one wants to stand up and address the issues with this kind of stuff, but OFFDACHAIN IS GAME! The new epidemic is concerning cloth diapers and don’t get me wrong…THEY ARE GREAT AND I LOVE THEM, BUT I HATE THEM TOO!  And no one wants to challenge any of this because the people who are putting this information out there on Social Media outlets…i.e. Facebook & Twitter do other things THAT ARE OBVIOUSLY SMART LIKE. (BREASTFEED, PARTICIPATE IN THE EDUCATION OF THEIR CHILDREN AND NEVER SAY NO TO THEIR HUSBANDS…shameless plug for the men…you guys can send the checks to my P.O Box)

Hey, I would not be OFFDACHAIN if I didn’t do something every now and then.

Now back to our regularly scheduled blog post….

So no one wants to come up against  these cloth diaper addicted women because some of them even have advanced degrees, but TODAY…that’s right I said TODAY…I am going to tell all the challenges with cloth diapers.  (If I am found not breathing after this post…know that I did nothing to myself)

My biggest challenge with cloth diapers is also one of the reasons I LOVE THEM.  They are all different and I understand that several women are making them in an effort to be a SAHM and bring in income.  I love the different colors, patterns and styles, but when it is 2am like it was before I started this blog post…AND DARK IN THE ROOM…UGH! 

The diapers come with these inserts and they are all different lengths and thickness and once you wash everything you have no clue what goes where.  Now we already know the biggest challenge in marriage today is how to fold a bath towel.  I mean it is a recurring theme in every marriage group in which we have been involved.  So these diapers are going to change that and move into the number one spot.  

Now I LOVE them because we don’t have to buy all those disposable diapers that cost WAYYY to much and they hold all those chemicals that keep the baby dry for 3 days of wetting(WHICH IS WHY WE THINK WE DON’T HAVE TO CHANGE THEM IF YOUR ONLY GONE FOR 3 DAYS) and take 14 years to break down in the environment. And I LOVE them because again because of the price and savings or did I just repeat a portion of the last sentence?  Well, saving money should get it’s own paragraph!! ‘in my Dave Ramsey voice’

In closing, I have something else to say to these cloth diapering groupies…

Before you get in the bed and want your husband to help you by changing a cloth diaper at 2am…make sure you have ONE PREPARED.  Because I have 2, 388 reasons I LOVE cloth diapers and only one reason why I HATE cloth diapers but at 2am IT SEEMS SOO BIG!

Thanks for stopping thru.

ODC

About offdachainandouttadabox

We are a married couple of 2 with 4 beautiful, smart children, who after 15 years of marriage have decided to join the blog world with a blog that will allow us to present what may be considered to many to be offdachainandouttadabox as it pertains to the areas of marriage, parenting, finances and health & wellness. The offdachain husband will also, against the wishes of his wife, (hence off the chain) post on other subjects from time to time.

14 responses »

  1. Okay, I’ll give you that one. Yes, I always have them already prepared for hubby cuz…well, it’s just easier that way! ALSO, you can buy my new FAV Tots Bots that solved that problem with the inserts for us!

    (if I end up not breathing after this comment because I suggested another cloth diaper purchase, ODC did it!) LOL

  2. I have yet to take the cloth diaper plunge but surprisingly it was my hubby who showed an interest in doing so and brought up the topic. Maybe once we get settled into the routine of having two small kids we’ll give them a try.

  3. How times change! 30 plus years ago when my oldest were babies, disposable nappies were considered SO BAD! Then we went through the cycle of cloth nappies were bad. Now we are back to the beginning again?

    Goes to show there really isn’t anything new! 😆

  4. OK. So after reading this again. I have to agree 100%..And not because I am a MAN, (well kind of) but because OffDaChain is so right. Cloth Diapers at first killed me. Spending all that money up front, but then I realized we didnt have to spend money every week. Then if a dude or woman likes the cloth on our own bodies then why wouldnt our young ones? RIght. Plus they look cool too.

    Now. I am a husband that DOES NOT change a nasty poop diaper. Out of 4 kids and 7 years I have done maybe 10. Seriously. Tracy(wife) loves me like that. But something about going outside and hosing off a NASTY diaper and then having to wash them, and THEN having to STUFF them. Yes STUFF them. Come on now. But..We do what is best and us husbands love to love, so we do what we are asked…well told

  5. I have been thinking about cloth diapers for a while now. My wife now has the infamous “baby rabies”, and we’re planning to have a little one soon. I took a gander down the diaper aisle of the local grocery and I don’t think my chin is up off the floor yet. I’m not that old (29 in a couple months), but I never had any disposable diapers touch my butt. Good ol’ “nappies” as we used to call them back home. Nothing high-tech, just bits of cloth with a safety pin. Could easily be a table napkin.

    Would love to see how well designed they are now, being that we’re in the space-age.

  6. I do heart cloth diapering…mostly because less money is spent…but the other stuff is good too. Besides having two to three extra pieces to figure out–I hate it when I am super tired, 2am-diapering, and I don’t fold it quite right and when I get my son in the morning he is covered in pee (or worse) because it seeped out the leg. Joy!

Leave a Reply

