My vacation with my mother-in-law!!!

Standard

I am not sure what your relationship with your mother-in-law is like but I met mine when I was 15 and if you could have seen my face when I looked back at my FAVORITE CHEERLEADER…now my wife…

Let’s just say I thought my wife was very cute at 15 years old but when I saw her mother I was able to look into THE FUTURE! (people always ask me when did you know you were going to marry your wife…the last sentence was your hint)

So my mother-in-law and I have a great relationship! I say have and it may catch some off guard because after moving her from Delaware to Atlanta to stay with us!!! (the girls loved this time) she lost a battle with Cancer(the most hated word in my family)(if it is the same for you do a road race to raise money for the fight)

We were even able to stop at my mom and dad’s house in North Carolina and my wife told a story of how my mother-in-law even stayed there in the past…How often does that happen?  🙂

Anyway…I had a great time with my mother-in-law this weekend.  I stop counting when people said her name at 27! Our vacation was full of stops and fun that she really enjoyed tagging along with us.  She was a person who would plan a trip to visit family and go to a city…let’s say Philly…And she would say we would leave at 7pm heading back home and we would almost be looking at 7am because she loved family sooo much she was like P. Diddy…”CAN’T STOP…WON’T STOP”  

But it was her desire to keep the family close and so I say that our hitting 8 states in 7 days was right up her alley! She was laughing all the way and was very proud of the TRAVELING FAMILY REUNION!! (2 TRUCKS WITH 3 ROWS CARRYING 15 PEOPLE TO EVERY HOUSE WE STOPPED WHILE IN PHILLY) 

I know the Cheesesteak place in Philly made some money that day! (not on me though because I am a healthy eater) 🙂 

Mom’s Duke is what I called her and it just feels great to bond with family and have her spirit in the middle of everything that happened.  She is very proud of what took place this past week.

Also, my brother-in-law and his wife (who are teachers) have agreed that we must allow our children a month in the summer to bond and build their relationships.  So they will take all kids for two weeks and we will take all kids for two weeks during the summers.  This is what helps family build a lasting family legacy! One that Mom’s Duke would be proud!

Thanks Mom’s Duke for spending time with us…I even missed your family song…NEXT TIME!! HAHA

ODC

About offdachainandouttadabox

We are a married couple of 2 with 4 beautiful, smart children, who after 15 years of marriage have decided to join the blog world with a blog that will allow us to present what may be considered to many to be offdachainandouttadabox as it pertains to the areas of marriage, parenting, finances and health & wellness. The offdachain husband will also, against the wishes of his wife, (hence off the chain) post on other subjects from time to time.

6 responses »

  1. That is awesome that you had a great trip. I still wonder how in the world you travel with all the females in the car. I should have had you stop at my parents in Dc and get all that stuff they are bringing to us next visit.

    Be good man.

  2. You are giving your children an amazing gift! What a legacy for your mother-in-law to leave- a connected and loving family. My daughter will have no cousins (I’m an only & DH at 42 is the baby), so we are making our own ‘family’ for her. But a month with family every summer?! Such a huge blessing!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

