How to help with Detox from Grandparents!

Standard

“Please turn the movie off for a second.  I have an announcement to make.” 

This is how I started my statement about 1 hour into our trip home from meeting my mom and dad at our normal outlet meetup spot to exchange the girls.  They have been staying with my parents since last week…which has allowed us to have SUCH A QUIET HOME.  But now it is over. And while walking around the outlets before getting to the car I had to do some correcting of behavior in the stores and I got some pretty strange looks.  Some looks that said in the imaginary bubble above their head…(“I think I want to see if Grandma and Grandpa are still in the parking lot and jump in their trunk”)…This statement has two challenges.  1. Children need to realize that God allows their parents to read their imaginary bubble & 2. If they would have kept you for the entire summer I would have allowed them.

Now back to the regularly scheduled Blog Post!

As the EverythingMan and leader of the home it is my duty to create a wonderful family environment.  Also, being a man who lives in a home with 5+ women I understand that most of the time a few kind words WILL GET YOU EVERYWHERE!

So during the trip I had the girls turn off their movie and made this statement:

“I want you ladies to know that I am very proud to be your father.  I think mommie has done a wonderful job of demonstrating how to act in a Godly fashion.  You girls are always the example of who people point to and speak about when they talk about children who are wonderful and I just want you to know that I see it, recognize you and think you are great.” “I am glad you are home and we are going to have lots of fun this summer.”

Their response was loud clapping and yelling…I think I might have heard a ‘Whoop There it is’ or something to that effect.  

Hey…If there is one thing I have learned in my short life being a parent.  You must find what works and USE IT.

Thanks for stopping,

ODC

About offdachainandouttadabox

We are a married couple of 2 with 4 beautiful, smart children, who after 15 years of marriage have decided to join the blog world with a blog that will allow us to present what may be considered to many to be offdachainandouttadabox as it pertains to the areas of marriage, parenting, finances and health & wellness. The offdachain husband will also, against the wishes of his wife, (hence off the chain) post on other subjects from time to time.

3 responses »

  1. Good thing you’ve learned how to please a woman. I told my husband that if he responds “Yes, dear. Whatever you want”, then the battle will be over and we can get on with life.

Leave a Reply

