World Breastfeeding Week: Confessions of a Selfish, Lazy, Apologist

Standard

I could not let World Breastfeeding Week end without sharing my thoughts and passion on my favorite subject. Everyone who knows me knows how committed I am to promoting breastfeeding and encouraging people to EDUCATE themselves about it. What many people don’t know is that I do have some personal motivations that have made breastfeeding work so well for me.

Apologetics (from Greek ἀπολογία, “speaking in defense”) is the discipline of defending a position (often religious) through the systematic use of reason. Early Christian writers (c. 120-220) who defended their faith against critics and recommended their faith to outsiders were called apologists.[1]

I have decided to borrow this concept and label myself a Breastfeeding Apologist. The facts speak for themselves. Breastmilk is the SUPERIOR choice. I will not use this post to discuss all of the wonderful benefits of breastfeeding. Instead, I will let you in on a few of the secrets behind my dedication.

I am a selfish mother. I’m secure enough to admit it. I can’t relate to this whole concept of wanting other people to feed your baby. Women are encouraged to pump so that Dad and other people can give the baby a bottle. This is all talked about under the guise of “help”. If you want to help me, let ME feed the baby, you can take her when I’m done and burp her, rock her, do the dishes, cook a meal, clean the house, do some laundry….you get the picture.  I can remember rushing home from the gym, hoping that ODC didn’t have to break into my freezer stash. I loved being the only one that could meet that need for my newborns. I cherished the opportunity to create a bond and a level of security that only I could develop with my children in those early months.

I can remember going to visit my Dad at his job, shortly having my first child. Someone asked me when I was going to let my Dad keep the baby. She seemed to get offended when I expressed that I didn’t really have a need to leave my baby. See, I enjoy keeping my infants close. I don’t really need a sitter for the first six months. (That’s around the time they get too wiggly and don’t just stay in one place…more on that when I talk about being lazy). Shout out to 1peachymama for inviting me to the movies and not hesitating to tell me to bring my 4 week old with me.

I am a lazy mother. I love the ease of exclusive breastfeeding. No fixing bottles, no getting up in the middle of the night, (oh yeah, I co-sleep too, another product of my laziness). I have joked and said that I wish I could breastfeed exclusively until my children were potty-trained and could cook their own food. I purposely delay solids for the first year because “there is no rush to get the baby to eat much solid food because breast milk provides the bulk of nutrition through the first year (and in fact some babies thrive on breast milk alone)” (http://archive.blisstree.com/live/exclusive-breastfeeding-beyond-six-months/). This approach has worked well for my last three girls and has worked extremely well for me. No packing food when we go out, no sitting at the high chair slowly spoon feeding an uninterested infant, and most importantly NO STINKY DIAPERS!!! When my children can pick up food and put it in their mouths, by themselves, BAM!!! They’re ready for solids!

Thank you ODC for creating a home where breastfeeding is celebrated all year. Thank you for being a father who READS and continues to be outspoken about eliminating the excuses and false information. To all my breastfeeding mamas, I celebrate you and the incredible contribution you are making to the health of your babies and yourselves. I have seen 3 wonderful breastfeeding relationships come and go. Who knows how much longer my 4th will last, in the meantime I will continue to guard and protect it as I go about the business of proclaiming the truth and defending every baby’s right to be breastfed.

Happy Breastfeeding!

OTB

13 responses »

  1. You are a beautiful woman inside and out Dawn and I am blessed to know you…Michael is bessed WAAAAY more than me to have you as his bride!! Thank you for sharing your heart!

  2. My feelings exactly. Everyone kept pushing for me to pump or formula feed my first, but I stuck it out exclusively breastfeeding for almost two years!! Now, I’m exclusively breastfeeding again with my second and I love it just as much as i did the first time around. The bond I’ve created with my children now is going to be something we’ll carry with us the rest of our lives. Not to mention all the great health benefits they are getting.

    I’m grateful for my supportive husband who helps me to tune out the discouragers.

  3. Dawn you know that you are BF comrades! BF was so wonderful for me and the kiddos, Ra for 2.5 years and Ms. Sweet Sia Li for 4 years! Trust me when I tell you if she could nurse right now she would! I remember being in the hospital after I had Sweet Sia Li. I was very ill, no need to go into details because you know BUT I will say that I had to stay in the hospital TWO WEEKS after Sweet Sia Li was able to be discharged. LaMont and I agreed that he would stay in hospital with the two of us so he could help out with baby. they told me if I insisted on nursing her he had to stay. He did and I did nurse her. It was a little tricky for about a two months. Tricky means I had to supplement my milk with formula until I got stronger. I was determined to wean her from SIMILAC. I can remember LaMont and I having convos about how damn expensive that formula was. We couldn’t wait to kick that habit. We did eventually and we nursed for FOUR years! Warrior Mothers unite and nurse brazenly and with pride. Love you guys and miss you so much! Warrior Mama Renee Flood-Wright

Leave a Reply

