17 1/2 Reasons why ODB is the BEST Wife in History!!

Standard

Several of you on Twitter have asked about this list so I have compiled it to share with the outtadaboxandoffdachain family.  Here is my tribute to the Best Wife in History!

Reason number 17 WHY Dawn Davenport Covin is the BEST WIFE IN HISTORY! She understands LOVE is not a feeling! She accepts her role and is willing to WORK for the marriage she wants to have and I thank God for her!

Reason number 16 WHY Dawn Davenport Covin is the BEST WIFE IN HISTORY! She understands that her $currency is in her DAUGHTERS/FAMILY and not IBM & her MBA and for that we thank her and believe the FUTURE BENEFITS will outweigh the income/benefits

Reason number 15 WHY Dawn Davenport Covin is the BEST WIFE IN HISTORY! For the 4+ Years we have lived in Georgia (still hard to say that) she has gotten out of bed early enough to teach a 5:45am spin class at the gym on Wednesday mornings and nothing has stopped her! (Pregnancy, Lack of sleep, music malfunctions) She is a wife/mother/woman who has NO EXCUSES!

Reason number 14 WHY Dawn Davenport Covin is the BEST WIFE IN HISTORY! She understands the perfect way to be heard sometimes is to be silent!! (especially when I am out of tune and I need to JUST HEAR MYSELF…which can’t be done when two people are arguing their point!) I thank GOD for a wife that understands being silent in some cases IS HARD but speaks VOLUMES!

Reason number 13 WHY Dawn Davenport Covin is the BEST WIFE IN HISTORY! She understands that her husbands needs her HELP and that help may sometimes make me feel uncomfortable when I hear what she has to say but if she is going to HELP…then sometimes it is what it is! (T.I’s wife could learn from Dawn)

Reason 12 WHY Dawn Davenport is the BEST WIFE IN HISTORY! The bible speaks of the fruit we produce and if we are determined by this anyone who has met my daughters know Dawn is doing an AWESOME job producing friut!!

Reason number 11 WHY Dawn Davenport Covin is the BEST WIFE IN HISTORY! Her busiest day of the week is Monday but for approx. 2 years she has made being the best WIFE possible a priority and has participated in a National support conference call held by Lisa Williams for WIVES ON PURPOSE at 9pm EST(712-432-0175)

Reason number 10 WHY Dawn Davenport Covin is the BEST WIFE IN HISTORY! She understands that together we developed a mission/vision for our family and our finances and has supported that and her husband through hard times which have included me being UNEMPLOYED! Because she is a SAHM who is homeschooling our girls, her support during those times pulled me and our family out!

Reason number 9 WHY Dawn Davenport Covin is the BEST WIFE IN HISTORY!! She has committed to NEVER having a phone conversation with her husband that does not end with her telling him she ‘LOVES HIM’ regardless of how bad he has gotten on her nerves, because she understands he needs to hear it and she needs to say it…ALWAYS!

Reason number 8 WHY Dawn Davenport Covin is the BEST WIFE IN HISTORY! She does not care what society says…she is committed to doing everything in her power to raise 4(or more) VIRGINS!

Reason Number 7 WHY Dawn Davenport Covin is the BEST WIFE IN HISTORY! When I look at her circle of friends, which is pretty large, I can not find one wife(not wifey) who I believe is not JUST AS committed to their marriage! So she understands that your circle of friends is either adding value or taking value away and does not invest in those that don’t add value(not $$$).

Reason number 6 WHY Dawn Davenport Covin is THE BEST WIFE IN HISTORY! She never tells her husband NO!

Reason number 5 WHY Dawn Davenport Covin is THE BEST WIFE IN HISTORY! She helps to facilitate an environment in our marriage where there is constant servanthood! The battle in our marriage is who can serve who more and not about ME with each of us so our marriage is BLESSED and our children/community are BLESSED!

Reason number 4 WHY Dawn Davenport Covin is the BEST WIFE IN HISTORY! Before marriage was aware that no marriage works 50/50 but 100/100…two whole people coming together so she found a church to grow her in Christ, got her MBA, purchased a home in downtown DC and starting investing in her 401k and company stock plan. (things most singles think is JUST MARRIED STUFF)

Reason number 3 WHY Dawn Davenport Covin is THE BEST WIFE IN HISTORY! Dawn loves the LORD and chooses to demonstrate her love for Christ through how she treats her husband and sometimes he is not deserving, but she does it anyway!

Reason number 3 WHY Dawn Davenport Covin is THE BEST WIFE IN HISTORY!(TODAY THERE WAS A TIE) She loves my mother and family like her own and does not buy into the in-law mess but loves my crazy family just like her crazy family!

Reason number 2 WHY Dawn Davenport Covin is THE BEST WIFE IN HISTORY! She is humble.

The number 1 Reason(AGAIN THERE IS A TIE) Dawn Davenport Covin is THE BEST WIFE IN HISTORY! When single she listed her number with directory assistance so I could find her and ask her to marry me when I had not spoken to her in a while and did not have her number but knew I wanted to marry her….She has always been a genius like that.

The #1 Reason Dawn Davenport Covin is THE BEST WIFE IN HISTORY! is she was preceded by 2 wonderful women, her grandmother, Julia Benson &, mom, Joyce Davenport, who poured into her life & U have been able to make both of them proud of the woman she had become. They were able to depart the earth, as we know it, leaving behind a WOMAN who is already creating a legacy of her own. They are proud of U. Enjoy your Birthday!

This was the list that I put together each day from the first of November until the 17th as just a part of my celebration of the wonderful wife that is OTB.  I could have just bought her a card and some flowers but what I have learned about my wife is flowers are not her thing.  I invite you to read the book by Dr. Gary Chapman, The Five Love Languages to make sure you are speaking the language of the person to whom you are married.  If the person you are married to knows exactly what is going to happen on their birthday you may be missing a little spice or outtadaboxness.  So I invite you to be creative.

In closing, I want to share with each of you and especially those of you that followed this list on a daily basis on FB and wondered why I was even doing this list.  The reality is this list was just as much for me as it was for my wife.  In marriage you need to be able to remind yourself WHY you love the person, put in the work to keep everything fresh.  When it involves children you can normally see growth are changes but when it involves an adult…not so much.  So this list was for me to force myself to bring back to my recent memory WHY I love this woman who I have chosen as my wife.  I posted recently a question to married couples asking for three NON-PHYSICAL reasons you married your spouse and found that many could not develop three.  So single people PAY CLOSE ATTENTION!!

Thanks for reading,

OTC

7 responses »

    • Transparency is what the offdachainandouttadabox website is all about. We actually celebrate on year as a blog next week and we are pretty happy with our success thus far. We want people to know we are not perfect but we are trying and this marriage thing takes effort.

      Thanks for your support here and on Twitter!!

      ODC

  1. I think it’s great to always have a reminder of why you married and love your spouse. I do a Romance Wednesday post on my blog every week dedicated to my husband.

    I do think that more young ppl need to start taking marriage seriously. It’s not all about the physical but the overall connection emotionally, spiritually and the treatment that person gives you.

  2. Ms. ODB darling you are a lady that is straight out the bible and deserve what God has given to you. ODC you show men how to treat their wives ” As Christ loves the Church”. Please people don’t read this and find fault take knowledge and learn wisdom.

Leave a Reply

