Special Report on Whitney Houston Funeral: Update on Bobby Brown departure

Standard

We had reported before the funeral of the speculation that some family members of the Houston family wanted to BAN the EX-Husband, Bobby Brown, from the Nationally televised funeral of the greatest female artist of her century. It has also been reported that there have been several challenges with their daughter Bobbi and Mr. Brown’s ability to spend time with her.

All this and more came to light during the funeral.

There was a statement released by the publicist of Bobby Brown which described his depiction of the funerals happenings.

“My children and I were invited to the funeral of my ex-wife Whitney Houston. We were seated by security and then subsequently asked to move on three separate occasions. I fail to understand why security treated my family this way and continue to ask us and no one else to move. Security then prevented me from attempting to see my daughter Bobbi Kristina.

“In light of the events, I gave a kiss to the casket of my ex-wife and departed as I refused to create a scene. … I will continue to pay my respects to my ex-wife the best way I know how.”

Several attendees of the funeral were questioned after walking out the funeral by members of the press and there were several different opinions as to what happened, as well as, if this treatment was appropriate.

The Bobby Brown treatment actually has the ODC/ODB family split.

ODB believes asking Bobby Brown and his children, who some say was an entourage, to move more should not have caused a departure. She believes if the day was about Whitney then it should have been, “Just that.”

ODC, who has been known to sing the hit song, “My Perogative” when confronted about his sometimes controversial actions, feels Bobby Brown was the bigger man by keeping his cool after being singled out during the funeral. He believes the word ‘entourage’ is a loaded word and if the Houston family had enough forgiveness in their hearts to have R. Kelly sing then Bobby Brown should have gotten RED CARPET treatment.

This is one of those times when we must invite our family of friends/followers to assist us.

What are your thoughts? Is ODB right, as usual, or does ODC have it correct for once?

ODC

8 responses »

  1. I personally feel that he was already uncomfortable with the situation. Everyone has been attacking him in the media for what they think he did to Whitney. He should have been shown respect and not asked to move at all in my opinion. Regardless of what people think happened in their marriage, he was her husband and they had a child together. I do feel that he was trying to be the bigger person in the situation. If not, he could have made a huge scene and he didn’t. He has been experiencing a lot of loss in the past year and no one seems to care. His family and children should not have been called an entourage. They were married for 14 years so it only makes sense that they wanted to pay their respects as well. There were other people that could have been asked to move and it was a bit disrespectful. Death brings out the worst in people at times. I pray that they all can find healing.

  2. I have to say I agree with ODC on this one. The main question in this scenario should be “the best interest of the child”. If you look at the situation from Bobbi Kristina’s perspective, it seems obvious that her father (her closest living relative, hello!) should be by her side during this time. I didn’t follow the Houston/Brown family that much, but (a little ashamed to admit this) I did watch a couple of episodes of Being Bobby Brown on YouTube this weekend. It’s clear that Bobbi Kristina had a relationship with her father and her siblings (for the record, it seems like Whitney was pretty close with them also). If her siblings are what constituted an ‘entourage’ then they should have been welcomed to pay their last respects and comfort their sister.
    I can only imagine what Mrs. Houston is going through right now. And I’m sure planning the funeral was extremely difficult for her. But she and those around her needed to consider Bobbi Kris’s needs and not their own feelings. So, I’m not going to speculate on how Bobby Brown should have handled his treatment at the funeral, but I will say unequivocally, he shouldn’t have been treated that way.

  3. I agree with ODC on this one. Who was so important that it required asking Bobby and his family to move threee times? I think he took the high road and did what was best for all concerned in an emotionally charged situation.

  4. At my mom’s memorial service, my Dad attended with his 2nd wife. My parents had been married close to 20 years and they had three children together (my father’s only children). My Dad did not sit with the ‘family’ and did not make any remarks. His presence was out of respect for my mother’s life; the mother of his only children and his presence also served as support for us, his children.

    The Bible tells us to “Love one another”, so that is how EVERYONE should have been treated during the funeral, so I am not justifying anyone’s treatment of Bobby. I don’t think most of us recognize the issues we have with our egos. If Jesus got so caught up in how people treated him instead of being focused on His purpose…..ODB

  5. Bottom line Bobby should have been there and should have been able to see his daughter. Regardless of anything he wanted to pay respect to a loved one divorced or not. He has a child with her with whom I’m sure he loves and seeing her should not have been an issue. You can argue growing up i was a big Bobby Brown fan lol so I’m a little biased. But the man has changed for the better and as of late really has been handling his business for a few years strong. I’m glad a scene wasn’t made.

Leave a Reply

