In the name of…

Standard

Before getting married I was talking trash…go figure…and told my now wife I would take her name when we got married because I was not caught up in the whole last name business.  I just wanted to marry her.

Like I said…I was just talking trash.

Well wouldn’t you know that the same woman who could tell you when an old song comes on the radio what grade she was in and what English assignment was due when the song was hot JUST SO happened to remember the statement.

And she recently reminded me of this while we were hosting an internet radio show.

Only in front of the entire world! But that is how my wife does things.

It did catch me off guard but I do remember saying it.  I also remember being upset when she did not make a sprint to the court offices to change her name to mine once we were married.

I also remember telling her that if I had known that she would not be so interested to take my name that I might have thought twice about marrying her…(trash talk)

But after thinking about the whole name thing and how my family…defined as those that live at MY address…are different and have our own identity…I am considering a NAME CHANGE.

WOW! I CAN NOT BELIEVE I JUST TYPED THAT.

Well I am.  My wife and I spoke about starting a new legacy.  A legacy that can be traced back to our generation.  A legacy where things were done different and our family began making a huge impact on this world.

THAT sounds good to me.  Maybe I will go with something like this.  My first name her maiden name-my last name.  I have a very close friend who took this option.

We say we are the family who is Saying No to the Status Quo. Maybe this is just another way to prove it.

ODC

“Blogging for March Madness Series”

About offdachainandouttadabox

We are a married couple of 2 with 4 beautiful, smart children, who after 15 years of marriage have decided to join the blog world with a blog that will allow us to present what may be considered to many to be offdachainandouttadabox as it pertains to the areas of marriage, parenting, finances and health & wellness. The offdachain husband will also, against the wishes of his wife, (hence off the chain) post on other subjects from time to time.

13 responses »

  1. I like the idea of making your own traditions & legacies. You certainly don’t stumble across too many men who would even CONSIDER taking on their wife’s last name as part of their own. Kudos to you for at least entertaining the idea and giving it some serious thought.

    • Thanks YUMM! We have missed you here on the blog. You know you are a VIP in our world! How is the little one??? Your family really should understand this concept with the legacies you guys are also building. Thanks for always hanging out with us as we navigate this parenting, marriage waterway.

      ODC

  2. I’m with Brittany lol…But I think that’s great that you all are doing things your way and not how others think that you should. I’m glad my husband didn’t tell me he would take my last name because I was ready to change mine lol. For me it was a fresh start and together we would define our legacy and destiny so my reasoning is similar but it didn’t involve a hyphen 😉

  3. I know a family that has both last names…the wife’s maiden name and the husband’s name. My last name is hyphened like that and so are our kids…we say around my house that it would be great if my husband changed his name to match ours.

    • I am attempting to stay on My Social Media Bosses good side this week and will respectfully reserve any further comment on this issue.

      I plead the fifth!

      ODC

      But thanks for the comment Funkidivagirl! I sent you an entire room full of people to your blog this week if that is a consolation.

Leave a Reply

