The missing relationship in “Think Like a Man”

Standard

Congratulations to “Think Like a Man” for taking over the box office for several weeks and allowing us to all laugh at the movie which many said actually passed the King of Comedy crown to actor and  narrator, Kevin Hart. It was impossible to depart from the movie and not know that he carried the production from the first scene till the conclusion.   It is always great to be able to laugh at our relationships and still grow from our mistakes.

The character played by Kevin Hart was just one of the relationships highlighted during the relationship movie that was to give legs to the New York Best Selling Book by Steve Harvey (written by D. Millner of www.mybrownbaby.com)

It took a few weeks for my wife and I to find time to enjoy the feature and it was much different from what I expected of the film following the blockbuster book.  Once able to view the film and the different depictions of relationships I immediately noticed what was missing.

With all the different flavors of men in the book there was only one from the film that was NOT FEATURED!

The only relationship that was not allowed any depth was the man who helped out in the home, who supported his family, who checked in regularly and who was not afraid to speak positively  about his relationship around the guys. And some may notice that this role was given to a white actor. Hmmmm.

His reward in the film:  We never see his woman or get a chance to hear or feel the most positive relationship in the featured film.  In my opinion, this was the major loss in “Think Like A Man” and was THE MISSING LINK RELATIONSHIP.

ODC

4 responses »

  1. I have not read the book because I don’t prefer the title and what I feel that represents, but anyway. I did see the movie because my hubby insisted and I do agree with you. But I do feel like that’s a proper depiction of how our society views relationships. No one thinks that black people are in healthy marriages and more emphasis is placed on the other relationships. Some people are really against marriage but are ok with playing house and in my opinion is a set up for failure in most cases. Praying that there is a shift in the atmosphere regarding the view of marriage in our community and that more couples in healthy marriages will step up and mentor young couples.

  2. I read the book -not because I needed advice from Steve Harvey – but because I wanted to see what the fuss was about. As I explained to my hubby Sunday, the fact Steve Harvey could write a relationship book for women showed the affect of generations of women growing up without fathers or appropriate male role models. The things Harvey addressses in his book are things a women who grew up with male role models would know because she would have experienced true love. The book and the movie speak volumes about what is going on in our community.

Leave a Reply

