A high school senior renewed my hope in the African-American Male!

Standard

 

 

Who remembers the last week they spent in high school?  I sure do….Well kinda.  I remember thinking it was the last week for about the last 2 months and can remember that I really did “act a fool.”  I feel so sorry for high school teachers who only deal with seniors.

Well today I was blessed to be invited to a celebration reception in honor of a wonderful kid.  He is a graduating senior and is going off to college to play soccer and study art. He is also a member of an awesome family in our community that we are glad to be linked.   An African-American family that has both mom and dad TOTALLY in tune with what is going on with their children.  Involved with the school activities and TOTALLY ACTIVE in all aspects of raising their children.

I know…It does happen in our community….It just needs to happen more often, but I am always sure to keep my not pad when I visit their home.

He does not know it but I have watched him for years and see a lot of myself in him and am pretty excited with the possibilities he brings to the world.  It is not everyday that people are excited about an African-American male and positive future possibilities.

I mean with some of the recent challenges we have had with other young men his age in our communities, This young man is like a breath of fresh air.

Today also confirmed something for me as it pertains to his taste in women.  I met her.  She was his prom date and they are dating currently.  I had seen pictures of her on his moms Facebook page and immediately called and started asking questions.

His mom told me, “You would be so proud of my son for who he is seeing.” She described his friend and the wonderful family that she is a part of and I am not surprised at all.

Then I realized and had to share today that I met my wife when I was 15 and my ability to know what a great women is like came from watching my mother.  I took the information that was in the home with me growing up and knew in high school that my wife was WONDERFUL and actually told her before we left high school that I would marry her.

I was able to share with today that he too has a wonderful example in his home and to understand that because of his growing up in such an awesome home with parents, who are ‘in tune’ with his needs…He has been prepared for the next step.

Today I was able to share my family with my community and get together in celebration of a young African-American male!!!!

Thanks to a high school graduate and scholarship athlete for giving a man with 4 daughters renewed hope.

If you ever need anything from our family…you won’t have to call me.

I will be stopping by unannounced, because WE ARE FAMILY. 🙂

ODC

About offdachainandouttadabox

We are a married couple of 2 with 4 beautiful, smart children, who after 15 years of marriage have decided to join the blog world with a blog that will allow us to present what may be considered to many to be offdachainandouttadabox as it pertains to the areas of marriage, parenting, finances and health & wellness. The offdachain husband will also, against the wishes of his wife, (hence off the chain) post on other subjects from time to time.

6 responses »

    • Well, what I told him was I did not realize I was looking at my wife even though I told her that and almost let her get away by WAITING until 30 to marry the woman of my dreams. I told him to marry the woman if your dreams and don’t wait!!

Leave a Reply

