Running for my life…

Standard

 

I continue to get the question, “Why do you want to run a marathon?”

I mean…WHO DOES THAT? Is the comment that most say when they hear I am going after the feat.

My answer is… people who want to be healthy and people who have their own reasons for wanting to join a spiritual movement.  A marathon is such a spiritual happening.

I have several reasons for tackling 26.2 miles all in one day.

1. I have been an above average achiever for my entire life.  This above average performing has allowed me to be a non-finisher for most of my life and fly under the radar.  Most people do not realize this about me but I KNOW I have not lived up to my full potential and I need to start being a finisher.  Completing this task is the rites of passage for my becoming a finisher.

2. My wife has been running half-marathons for a two year period and I would even run her long runs with her on some of her trainings but I would never compete on race day.(typical)  A marathon is my way of being the leader in my home.  Having 4 daughters means I need to be the leader and they need to see me lead so they know WHAT RIGHT LOOKS LIKE.

3. My family has a history of heart disease and I have two parents that are needing pacemakers and I refuse to believe that something that is right before me will JUST HAPPEN to make a swerve around me and miss.  I just don’t think I am THAT special.

4. I also would like to continue to rehabilitate my achilles that was surgically repaired in July 2011.

5. At age 43, I would like to transition into doing Triathlons and add the swimming and biking to my training.

6. To say I have done something that puts me into such a Small Percentage of Society

7. To spend some time and spiritually connect with my 4 daughters by playing their song “Rise” as my run day Theme Song.

http://bit.ly/M5BTaL

Thanks to all those that have supported me during my training.  I also would like to thank the Ironman training crew who I would run into most Saturdays/Sundays.  The crew that has members that are 10 years older than I am and gave me no excuse to ever stop.

Wish me luck…

ODC

 

2 responses »

  1. Those are all great reasons to get into endurance sports. It takes a lot of courage and maturity to write them all down, which is very admirable.

    For me, there are also a lot of reasons. Dissatisfaction with work, desire to stay in shape, structure to life. But the biggest one, I think, is “I want to do something awesome.”

    So often we meet people that have huge accomplishments under their belt, sometimes from a very young age. It can put your own life in perspective, allowing you to (albeit unfairly) judge yourself and your time on this planet. So for me, running multiple marathons is a way of doing just that: living life and achieving something great that few people will ever do. So I guess that means I most closely line up with your sixth reason.

    Keep it up. This is your legacy.

Leave a Reply

