Who are your kids hanging with?

Standard

 

 

 

 

 

 

On a visit to my 10-11 year old daughters home school coop group I discovered there was a news anchor in my daughters class. I walked into the room and there she was a beautiful, well-spoken young lady who was reading a piece to my daughters class and holding the attention of all the class, which included a group of parents. And myself being a person who has worked for a hot minute in television, my mouth dropped to the floor. I was so excited I could not even stay in the room. I immediately turned around and ran to find her parents. Yes, she was the same age as my oldest daughter and I had to alert her mother that this child was a special talent. Needless to say, when I met the mom I saw where the ability to hold the room was inherited. (No shame in my game…I lay it on thick)

But really! She was awesome and I had to let her home schooling parents know that this child had IT, but then her mother let me know that she was not born with IT.

The mother worked her like a…..well let’s say a parent who wanted her child to understand the benefits of hard work.

So fast forward a year to the 2012 end of the year celebration and our children are all fighting their hearts out to become MEMORY MASTERS!!! A MEMORY MASTER is a student who can recite the answer to every question they have been asked in ALL SUBJECTS for the entire year….VERBALLY=OFF THE TOP OF THEIR HEAD!!!!!

We use a model called Classical Conversations and we have different lessons. So this year we are using module 3 and the Memory Master students must memorize this group. Well, we have done 1 & 2 over the past 2 years and we had one…EAGER, BEAVER, OVER-ACHIEVER who was able to successfully do ALL 3!!!

You guessed it! THE NEWS ANCHOR WAS THE FIRST TO ACHIEVE THIS FEAT!

She was able to recite the answers to all 3 years work VERBALLY=OFF THE TOP OF THEIR HEAD and yes it probably took 4-6 hours but they presented her with a 1st time award.

The MEGA-MEMORY MASTER WAS BORN and I am glad she is a friend of my daughters because I am able to talk to my daughter about having friends who are GODLY & EXCELLENT and she doesn’t have to watch a television(yet) to see the example.

I was able to obtain a copy of the speech the Next Famous News Anchor presented at the 2012 Classical Conversations End of the year celebration and have pasted it below:

 

In the Bible, God tells us, “So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.” 1 Cor 10:31.

I believe if we are doing everything to the glory of God, then we should do our best. If we are spending time and money on CC, it would be important not to lose what we have learned.

Since I had already Memory Mastered over the past three years, my mom and I decided it was time for review. I was sad to find how much I had forgotten.

I had to apply daily faithfulness to regain the material. And I can’t stop now. I need to continue working so that I don’t lose what I have learned. I encourage you to do the same.

1 Timothy 4:12 says: Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith and in purity.

Thank you

And don’t try to steal her to be friends with your kids….She is just one of our SUPERFRIENDS, but you and your kids can find your own.

 

Thanks for stopping by,

ODC

5 responses »

  1. She may be your SUPERFRIEND, but she’s my future daughter-in-love… just saying and praying it comes true!! (Don’t tell Marshall…he’d DIE!!)

Leave a Reply

