Your successful new life may need scheduling!

Standard

My wife had me grab a dry erase board and told me to prepare to use the board to answer some questions.  Of course it is after a long day and I have very little patience but play along because I think it’s going to lead to something physical, that I will enjoy.

She asked me to make a list of the things that are important to me:

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

I left them blank so you can fill in your answers. I don’t want to distract you by having you look at my stuff.  After writing this she asked me to find a Bible scripture that I could use as a foundational scripture for each.  This was to help me see just how much of what was important to me was also important to God!

She then had me draw a line down the middle board and on the left side begin to write the days of the week.

Sunday

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Saturday

But you knew that…huh?

She then had me make my entire weekly schedule and we discussed when each of the items that I had deemed important would get time and I was amazed at how this turned out.  My schedule was so packed that if some of the items I deemed important were going to get touched some major changes would need to be made.

I discovered that there are several things in my life that I would like to improve and if those areas are going to improve I am going to have to invest the time, energy and efforts.  This involves getting out the bed at 4:30am-5:00am when my wife goes to the gym.  (something that is important to her and she has done this for the 12 years we have been married)

She told me, “Most people are not willing to invest in themselves or grind for what they want.”  Then she asked me, “Are you?”

This woman is mind-blowing!!! 

ODC

Note to Singles: “Iron sharpens Iron.” Even in a marriage

7 responses »

  1. This is so true. I find myself becoming resentful when I have overscheduled myself to the point where the things that are important I’m not able to do. Will definitely share. Thanks for your wisdom and love!

Leave a Reply

