The Ultimate Compliment

Standard

MP900227416

Each day when I return home from the office I am greeted by screaming little girls who like to attach themselves to my legs and squeeze me until my blood stops circulating through my body.  I enjoy the love and have recently taken a liking to a 20% increase in this love on the daddy-a-thon squeeze fest!!!

This week my wife and I have taken the responsibility of caring for an extra daughter. Someone who has pleasantly gotten lost in our home this week. No we have not lost someone’s child in our home but going from 4 girls ages 11, 9, 7 & 2(almost 3) to (insert 4 year old girl) has not been a huge deal. The humor in this is the 4 year old calls me Mrs. Mike and I have been giving her the biggest hugs since she was born.  Every time I would see her I would make the biggest deal and she really liked it…I could tell!  It did not get me out of the Mrs. category but OH WELL!  It’s makes it easier when it is time for her to visit us.  She is not only not afraid of me but looks forward to seeing me.  (That’s a switch)

In an effort to assist another family in our community, who is experiencing an infant daughter, who is only weeks old, having major surgery we have taken the 4 year old in until further notice.  (I need to let the parents know that is until I notify them that they can not have her back) You know it is one of those situations where a child can not be in ICU and the sister may be there for a while. And even when she gets out they are gonna need rest….Right?

And yes I have dumped most of the responsibilities on my wife but did use my day off to care for my 2(almost 3 year old) and the 4 year old all day.  And yes I have an even larger respect for my wonderful wife.

But the fact that people trust us with their children is THE ULTIMATE COMPLIMENT and it happens pretty often. I think it is more because my wife lives here but like with most things I am surely to take ALL the credit. (Not really…but Really)

It really means something to my family to be able to support our community and help this family out.  My daughters are all stepping up in support of this family as well. This is a great time in our community. Especially, in a time of need that involves a sick child, which is something we have never experienced.

It is times like this that make us believe we are doing something right in our marriage and with raising our family.  We are thankful and prayerful that everything works out and we can have the baby come visit one day when she is big enough to read this blog post and run and squeeze my leg with the rest of the crew.

 

Thanks for stopping by,

 

ODC

About offdachainandouttadabox

We are a married couple of 2 with 4 beautiful, smart children, who after 15 years of marriage have decided to join the blog world with a blog that will allow us to present what may be considered to many to be offdachainandouttadabox as it pertains to the areas of marriage, parenting, finances and health & wellness. The offdachain husband will also, against the wishes of his wife, (hence off the chain) post on other subjects from time to time.

One response »

  1. Our friends’ 3 year old daughter stayed with us for four days while they were at hospital having their second girl. I’d forgotten how many “why?”s a 3 year old can produce before 9am! The boys had fun with their “little sister” and when it was time to take her home,she said that she didn’t want to leave! She asked her dad if he could bring her back to Auntie JuJu’s after he picked her up. Zen has been spending three hours a day with her at her home since baby sis and parents came home, and she looks forward to “Zen school”. It’s lovely that my son loves kids, and he says that this is his practice for when he’s a dad. When he comes home,he needs to unwind for a bit. “Man, parenting is hard!” he’s said. “Welcome to my world,” I reply.

    Our house (and my nerves) can stand a few extra kids for a few days, so right now I’m planning on running a Spring camp for my boys and a couple of their buds. They’ll be hanging and camping out n the backyard, each with a goat to tend as it eat up the ivy. At week’s end, we’ll have a grillout,and I’ll have a new batch of “Guaranegro” sons.

Leave a Reply

