The Huge Family At The Next Table!

Standard

Family Praying Before Dinner

Just sitting in a restaurant and a family walks in with a rack of kids. One screams, “I gotta go to the potty!” and I mean…IT WAS LOUD and another one yells, “Where’s mommy?” I’m looking around and was wondering the same thing. The dad is by himself now because mommy quietly slipped by and pulled just one child off to the restroom. I’m thinking to myself that maybe she forgot a few, but anyway…I need to mind my own business. The dad is now by himself and navigating the 3 kids pretty well.

I’m thinking…WAIT! Only I am capable of such craftiness with a HUGE family!

Well, 4 kids has gotta be a huge family because I have 4 and I hear that all the time when I go places. The only difference is this family has a boy and judging by the layout of the sizes he seems to have made his way into 2nd position. And that would have been a perfect place to stop. You know the routine. You get one boy and one girl and you start screaming, “We are DONE!” “What else is there to do!”

Little did this family know. If they had stopped I may have never noticed them. I mean a family with only 2 kids is so small they would have slipped under my radar.

And here comes the mom…1 child in tow. She has a seat on the end corner of the table. She is a bit distant. Not mean just seems to kinda be in rest mode. Dad is taking all the hits right now. I mean he is getting shouts from the front both sides and the back. It’s kinda beginning to look familiar.

Hmmm. Large Family (check) Engaged Dad (check) Mom looking like she has past the daily torch over to the Dad and then I saw it!

The give away. The pink ribbon. The same pink princess ribbon that my daughters wear on their birthday. But I continued to just stalk them out from the next table. And this dad was really trying to become my competition. Super engaging now…STILL! He was even welcoming to more questions and they were still coming from all around. I thought to myself.

Could it be?

So I thought to myself. SELF. What would Paula & Sarah want me to do?

So I did it!

I walked over and said, “You guys are doing such a great job with your HUGE family.” “You have such great kids.” “I also have 4 children, but they are all girls.” (insert small talk) (Just put that in b/c I really don’t remember this part) Then I POPPED THE QUESTION, but not down on one knee.

“Are your children in school?”

Their Response: “We are actually homeschoolers.” I said, “YES!”

What curriculum do you guys use?

Their Response: “Classical Conversations”

I said, “I KNEW IT” (almost as loud as the kids)

I am so proud of you guys and I got a card from the wife with the entire family listed on it that was really cute. I actually wrote the daughter Lucy’s name on the back to remember and that the wife’s father was a realtor…but then I left the card on the table.

UGH! I can find them though because they are in the Lake Ridge, Virginia Classical Conversations Homeshool community.

I love my CC family and I’m telling you we really do look different. I’m telling you what this community is doing with our families is working.

THANK GOD!

ODC

2 responses »

  1. Love, love, love this!!! And I’m honored to have been mentioned!! 🙂 And you have an incredible family. You are both doing a superb job of raising godly young women who value faith, family, and friends…in that order! Cuddos to you both!

    • You will know them by their friends….I’m sorry. I meant fruit. Yeah that’s it fruit. Thanks a ton for all you and your beautiful family have meant to our journey. And just think, we are only just getting started.

      ODC

Leave a Reply

